damonpackwood

Ice T Providing Perspective, Part 1

In video games on February 23, 2011 at 8:01 pm

What people don’t understand is that the video game industry broke right alongside the hip-hop industry. Video games, hip-hop, skateboards; all that kind of broke during the ‘80s. I had everything – the Ataris, the Segas. We grew up with it.”

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Reading this interview of Ice T in Gameinformer last week put a great big smile on my face. No offense to my white brothas and sistahs out there (as Cornell West would say) but we almost exclusively and exhaustively hear you talk about video games. It was good, for a change, to read about someone who experiences gaming the way me and my black and brown folks do.


I read this a day after I wrote a short post on (composer) Christopher Tin who won the first ever Grammy for a video game theme this year. In the post, I reminisced on playing an old video game while listening to Curtis Blow in 1985. I didn’t know it at the time but, it was the beginning of two culture-changing industries.

Ice T provides that same perspective on gaming culture – an urban perspective. Playing video games meant something a little different to people who lived in Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco or New York. When I started reading about games in 2001, or so, there was something about it that was so un-cool. I couldn’t put my finger on it but we have a word for that when we hear it or see it. It was corny.

I’m reminded of what is sorely missing from gaming culture – a multi-cultural perspective.


Leave a Reply

