damonpackwood

Goofin’ Around with Michael

In Black Oakland Renaissance on March 2, 2011 at 11:35 pm

 

Julian and I had an interview with Michael Orange of Oakland’s Top Ten Social Club. We met him at an art gallery where CIG and a few other artists were preparing for the RAW Art Gallery opening the next day. I was getting warmed up – shooting footage of them making preparations – when I peeped this really cool shot of CIG and his home boys’ graffiti art sort-of fusing together. It gave off this really surreal background image so I made up something about getting introduction footage.

 

I really just wanted to play around with the shot.

 

Everyone was a little tired and we were drinking a few beers. CIG did a few takes for me. He’s a dope artist but he’s hilariously shy in front of the camera. We did five takes until we finally got it right. This footage of Michael was a little off (as you can see) so I never used it. But, while I was shooting (Mike was also hella tired), the boys started getting on him. I don’t think they expected him to introduce himself like this although he did have some art featured. Stay tuned for the interview footage we shot of Michael. I’ll have something up no later than Monday.

Leave a Reply

