damonpackwood

What Does Oakland Need, Michael?

In Black Oakland Renaissance on March 31, 2011 at 5:57 am

 

I did a really fun spread a few weeks ago featuring three people as a part of my “Black Oakland Renaissance Project.” I thought it turned out pretty well and have received some fantastic feedback about it. If you’re interested (and you should be) you can check out Brandon Brown of The People here, Jenna Burton of Red, Bike and Green here and Michael Orange of Top Ten Social Club here.

Speaking of Michael Orange, above is a clip I was going to use for the Portraits of Oakland spread but it ended up on the cutting room floor, so to speak. However, I did like it. It was brief but, it said a little something about how far Oakland has to go despite how far we’ve come.

I believe we’ll get there but I must admit, I’m a little sensitive about gentrification. I hope Oakland can get to a place that is healthy, sustainable and successful without dismissing the heart of the city: its Black community. Unfortunately, there are already signs of this happening.

Leave a Reply

