damonpackwood

Shadows of the Damned – Preview

In video games on May 24, 2011 at 11:46 pm

I’ve been mostly checked out this month. My last post was on the 3rd. I know — I’m terrible, but I have been very productive. Most of the writing I’ve been spitting out has been over at Bitmob. I’ve been interning there for the past few months. I have a regular Sunday post. You can check it out here. But, last Saturday I posted my first legit piece: A preview of the next game by developer Goichi Suda, Shadows of the Damned.

Hands down, the best thing about Shadows of the Damned is the creativity that permeates it. Much will be written about the exotic guns or Shinji Mikami’s controls, but the demo was too short for any of that to really grab me. The things that made an immediate impression were the uniqueness of Garcia Hotspur (the main character), the Grindhouse/Mexploitation influence of film director Robert Rodriguez, and Suda’s ability to weave these together in his own Japanese and punk-inspired world of demons.

I wanted to spend a lot more time discussing the game, but their format requires that I keep it concise to maximize discussion in the comments section. That might be why I rarely get comments here, huh? I gotta work on that.

I think Shadows of the Damned is going to be a good game. Goichi Suda and fellow Japanese legends Akira Yamaoka (he did the musical score for the Silent Hill games), and Shinji Mikami (the developer behind Resident Evil) are going to put together a very entertaining game. The fusion of Japanese horror and Robert Rodriguez/Quentin Tarantino-like action is bizarre, but it works. I do have my reservations, however. Check out the article for more.

  1. Ca-yuteee!

Leave a Reply

