damonpackwood

Hackers: The New Robin Hoods?

In Culture, video games on June 25, 2011 at 12:07 am

With all of the noise hacker groups Anonymous and LulzSec have been making recently, I was asked by New America Media to write an article about the gamers perspective to the whole thing.

It sounded like a fun assignment so I said, “why not?” They didn’t necessarily know what they were asking for. They were mixing a lot of the news up, which was cool. These hacker groups have been all over the place, and not everyone understands the difference between a hack on Sony Pictures vs. a hack on Sony Online Entertainment or Sony’s PlayStation Network.

I had a cool experience, though. And, they liked it enough to invite me to be interviewed for New America Now (check it out here). I haven’t listened to it yet, but I hope I don’t sound like a dumb a**. I was really careful not to be lured into a statement that would make these hackers look like villains or the boogeyman. One, I don’t agree, and two — I ain’t trying to get hacked!

I still believe the real story of these recent hacks is indicative of the apparent distrust all over the world in our banks, governments, corporate entities, and most importantly the system of capitalism. My prediction? We’re going to see a rise in people’s belief in and adherence to anarchy. Without any clear support from the religious community, or a political group that makes any sense people will look to their own rules.

I don’t agree with everything the hackers are doing, but I sure as hell understand.

Leave a Reply

