damonpackwood

Sony Planning to Cut Out the Middle Men?

In Technology on January 5, 2012 at 4:53 am

In the Blogaboutech Mixtape, v. 2 I briefly wrote about YouTube and its $100 million plan to get star power onto its channel. My thoughts — besides the pun about Ashton Kutcher, Shaquile O’Neal and the Armageddon — were how this could be the beginning of the end for cable television. Well, here goes another potential nail in the coffin.

Sony is in talks with several big media companies to create internet streaming televisions that will cut out cable service providers, according to a report from the Wall Street Journal back in November. The idea is to bring television back to the way it use to be with a few channels. Y’know, quality over quantity. I’m totally over simplifying it but you can check out the links for more info. Point is: internet “television” is blowing up and… I love it!

I gave up cable television a long time ago. Paying over $80.00 a month for a ton of channels I won’t watch nor care for got old a long time ago. Every once in a while I’ll head over to my neighbors crib for a little Walking Dead or to watch the football game, but the commercials make it almost impossible to enjoy television. Television advertisements are so intrusive that I feel like I’ve tuned in to watch commercials with a little dramatic or comedic break in between.

Netflix on the other hand allows me to watch shows back to back without someone trying to convince me to use Tide with bleach or to buy a brand new Ford. Sure, I’m about a season behind Mad Men, or I’m watching the canceled but seriously GREAT Flash Forward (any other time and that show would have been a hit). But, I rather like the idea of paying for customizable options, zero commercials and the right to watch what I want, when I want to.

Being able to watch television streamed live on a television connected to the internet presents so many possibilities. Web series’ like Osiris and 12 Steps to Recovery would be better enjoyed on television than a computer screen. I, for one, am excited for this. That is, until advertisement companies figure out a way to ruin the whole thing.

Yes, that day will come.

Leave a Reply

