damonpackwood

Tony Scott 1944-2012: Rest in Peace

In Film on August 21, 2012 at 10:40 pm


I intended to write something pretty lengthy about Tony Scott, but honestly I’m at a loss. I think it’s safe to say that most of us knew of the famed filmmaker. He has only made some of the most successful and most memorable movies of the last thirty years. I remember watching Top Gun and Beverly Hills Cop 2 repeatedly with my brother on our old VHS. Crimson Tide was the first big budget thriller I had ever seen where a black male lead went head up with a white male lead without any issues of race and ethnicity. The man had an incredible list of films, and I always looked forward to what he was going to come out with next.

Tony Scott was a man that fed my generation movies. In the theater and the video stores he raised us, entertained us, and made some of us feel proud to see black men like Eddie Murphy, Denzel Washington, Wesley Snipes and Will Smith in starring roles. We lost a giant this week. He will be greatly missed.

Leave a Reply

